Software Bisque

Take a virtual tour of the Software Bisque campus Watch Steve Bisque discuss the Paramount mount with S&T's Dennis Di Cicco Read the Paramount MYT Review Read about the Paramount Software Suite

TPoint

rated by 0 users
This post has 3 Replies | 1 Follower

Not Ranked
Posts 5
tedcrampton Posted: 10-10-2018 4:11 AM

Hello

I am a scientist/engineer with a love of astronomy but never previously had the time or resources to indulge in a telescope.

Now I am retired and have both. BUT I am disabled and can not bend and move around very easily.

I have built up a system based on a remote pulsar dome with an EQ6 pro mount, Celestron C11 telescope, two ZWO cameras, a tetrad finder with a miniature low light hd camera to remote view through the finder ; all controlled by an IMAC some 30 feet away running TheSkyX Pro.

Everything works beautifully BUT if I loose alignment for any reason I find if difficult to then enter the dome and realign. I read up and researched the Celestron StarSense device and thought it might be the answer. BUT It will NOT connect to the computer until after alignment. The computer therefore can not tell the dome where to be, therefore alignment won't work?

My alignment process starts off with the moon and once aligned on this I can normally manage a few stars - but of course the moon is not always available and In the right place at the right time.

I would be grateful for any suggestions. I have considered T point but I presume it needs a degree of correct alignment to be able to start. 

Thank you in advance 

Ted

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 3,183
Software Bisque Employee

tedcrampton:
…never previously had the time or resources to indulge in a telescope…. Now I am retired and have both.

Happy to hear it!

tedcrampton:
Everything works beautifully BUT if I loose alignment for any reason I find if difficult to then enter the dome and realign.