Software Bisque

Take a virtual tour of the Software Bisque campus Watch Steve Bisque discuss the Paramount mount with S&T's Dennis Di Cicco Read the Paramount MYT Review Read about the Paramount Software Suite

MyT Loose Dec Axis (Versa Plate Movement)

rated by 0 users
This post has 3 Replies | 1 Follower

Not Ranked
Posts 7
Peter Von Stein Posted: 04-03-2019 1:15 PM

The Dec Axis has a fair bit of Versa Plate movement when I move it back and forth by hand (as opposed to the RA axis which is tight).  I have adjusted the Dec Spring Plunger and Cam stop according to instructions.  When I make it too tight there is still there is a little less movement but the Dec axis will not drive.  I taped a piece of paper (with a pencil mark) to the mount to show the movement.  See attached files.

I am only a beginner with this well engineered mount.  Obviously I think that the DEC axis should not have that much play.  Please give me some suggestions or test that I could run.

Thank you,

Peter Von Stein

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 3,761
Software Bisque Employee

Peter Von Stein:
The Dec Axis has a fair bit of Versa Plate movement when I move it back and forth by hand…

If you push hard enough, you might force the worm away from the gear a little, allowing the gear to rotate slightly. But if you feel movement when pushing with just one finger on the end of the Versa-Plate, some adjustment is probably necessary.

Peter Von Stein:
…(as opposed to the RA axis which is tight).

Both should feel similar, given a similar torque is applied.

Peter Von Stein:
I have adjusted the Dec Spring Plunger and Cam stop according to instructions.

Have you been following our Paramount GEM Cam Stop and Spring Plunger Adjustment Instructions?

Peter Von Stein:
When I make it too tight there is still there is a little less movement but the Dec axis will not drive.

Then that's too tight. It may be that you should proceed to Paramount Worm Block Adjustments.